Kampala University awarded Kenyan charter in new milestone

The East African University

Kampala University has cemented its place as East Africa’s tertiary education powerhouse by acquiring a charter for its Kenyan subsidiary, The East African University (TEAU).

The latest charter makes it a trilogy of such certification after last year’s charter of East African University of Rwanda (EAUR), the Rwandan arm of Kampala University, while Kampala University’s main university at Ggaba, Kampala, got its charter in 2016. These institutions are governed under the BDK Universities network international, a brainchild of seasoned Ugandan educationist, Amb. Al-hajji Prof. Badru Ddungu Kateregga.

Confirming the charter for the Kitengela-based University to rectors and vice chancellors of the BDK Network Universities, Prof. Kateregga expressed gratitude for the new milestone, seeing it as one which will further cement BDK’s legacy as a regional and global tertiary education giant.

“I am exceedingly happy to inform you colleagues that on Tuesday August 2, while at State Lodge Kakamega, H.E. Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta the President of the republic of Kenya granted a charter to The East African University (TEAU) based in Kitengela-Nairobi,” Prof. Kateregga said.

And thanking the Kenyan government for the new milestone, Prof. Kateregga also appreciated whoever helped TEAU to get the new charter.

“I’m deeply indebted to all those who stood with us in the process of getting this charter. In a special way, allow me to extend our renewed thanks to the government of the republic of Kenya through CUE for all the technical guidance rendered for the attainment of this status,” Prof. Kateregga added.

The communication of the charter which Prof. Kateregga sent out to rectors and VCs of the BDK empire


The East African University Kitengela in Nairobi, Kenya is a sister university to Kampala University BDK Universities Network International which is an amalgamation body of Kampala University-KU, TEAU and East African University of Rwanda (EAUR) in Nyagatare, Eastern province.

The university also has another campus located at View Park Towers, Utalii Lane within the CBD (Central Business District) in Nairobi.

Sitting on 100 acres of land, it was started in 2006 and received its Tertiary Education Institution License from the Commission for University Education in November 2010.

It was founded by among others, Amb. Al-hajji Prof. Dr. Badru D. Kateregga, seven years after he founded Kampala University in 1999. Kampala University has since grown to a formidable university in Uganda, with several branches in Luwero (Nakyewa), Jinja (Iganga Highway), Masaka (New Kkumbu), Mutundwe (Kigagga Zone).

Tags : East African University

Leave a Response

error: Content is protected !!