New UETCL Board Visits ERA, Pledges Cooperation

Newly inaugurated board of the Uganda Elelectricity Transmission Company Limited (UETCL) has paid a courtesy visit to the Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA) head office.
This follows a ceremony in which the Minister of Energy and Mineral Development, Hon. Dr. Ruth Nankabirwa last month, swore-in the new UETCL board of directors with Mr. Kwame Ejalu Ejuku being the new Board Chairman. Other members of the new board are Ms. Achiro Sharon Loka (an independent director), Eng. Innocent Oboko Yotkum (Independent Director), Ms. Sylvia Muwebwa Nabatanzi (independent director); Mr. Julius Mukholi Wamukota (non-independent director and also the representative of the Ministry of Finance), and Eng. Cecilia Nakiranda Menya, a non-independent director and also the representative of the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development. Dr. Sarah Wasagali Kanaabi, the Chairperson of the Authority, congratulated the UETCL Board upon their appointment and thanked the Board for accepting to serve the Electricity Supply Industry as the stewards of the UETCL.
“Your appointment is a demonstration of trust and confidence in your abilities that equally comes with great expectations,” said Dr. Wasagali.

She emphasized that UETCL’s sustainability, sound governance, and Going Concern status were of great interest and concern to the Authority and stakeholders in the entire Electricity Supply Industry value chain.
Dr. Wasagali pledged ERA’s unreserved commitment to support the UETCL Board to effectively execute its mandate so that it can contribute to the achievement of the Government of Uganda’s aspirations for the improved social welfare of society for the socio-economic transformation of Uganda.

Meanwhile, Kwame Ejalu Ejuku, the Chairman of the Board of Directors of UETCL, commended the Authority for the warm reception and congratulatory messages.
“We were honored by our appointment to this crucial sector in the development of our country, and we take it seriously. As we took our roles, we were aware of the negative stories circulating in the media. We are committed to creating a well-governed and vibrant institution,” he said.

He that pledged UETCL’s total cooperation with ERA and also thanked the Authority for the support already rendered.
“We value ERA as our priority stakeholder.” he said.
Present at the reception of the UETCL board were the Board of ERA, Chief Executive Officer of Electricity Regulatory Authority Eng. Ziria Tibalwa Waako, and George Rabajungu, the Chief Executive Officer of Uganda Electricity Transmission Company Limited.

Tags : Dr. Ruth NankabirwaElectricity Regulatory AuthorityERAUETCL


Leave a Response

error: Content is protected !!